Skip navigation

So, Josh has been a bad blogger. And some things have popped up with a member of the family having terminal cancer, so yeah.

Anyways, on with the letting my code fly.

Today I am gonna get free a tool I created a while ago called Image ripper. The basic idea behind it is that somebody is having lunch or something with a client, and they start diagramming something on a napkin or other non suitable bit of paper and would like to get that into Visio or Word or something like that without redoing the diagram.

It’s a command line program, written in c#, full source is included (should be rather easy to understand).

The way you use it is (from the command line and in the directory the program is) ImageRipper.exe templatefilepath checkfilepath outputfilepath.

The first thing is the path to what I call the template image (I.E If the diagram is on a napkin, the template file would be a blank napkin).

The second argument is the path to the file to check (I.E the napkin or whatever that your diagram is on).

The last argument is the file that you want to be the output file, it will create it if the location doesn’t exist

so as an example ImageRipper.exe c:\images\templatefile.jpg c:\images\checkfile.jpg c:\images\output.jpg

The way it works is that It loads both images into separate System.Drawing.Bitmap classes and then comparing the images pixel-by-pixel, if the current check image pixel is different than the template image pixel, then it will add a pixel to the output images bitmap

Obviously this works best with scanned images.

Any Questions, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

Here’s the link.

As with all my apps that I set free, feel free to-do whatever you want with this, I’d like a email if you do anything cool with it commercially. If you blow up or have vomiting and nausea or anything else bad while using my software, I’m not responsible, so there mmmkay?

Leave a Reply

